A Plastic Card Called “Freedom”

Ah, the driver’s license… That little piece of plastic that, when you possess one with your very own name and photo on it, gives you the freedom to go anywhere, at any time without needing to rely on anyone else to get you to wherever you want to go.

Oh, how I long for that freedom!

I got my temps this summer; I’ve been practicing my driving with my mom. I have been doing a pretty good job driving, but I’m still very tense when I’m in the driver’s seat, and I have a ton of things I need to work on (I haven’t even driven on the expressway yet).

I want to wait to take my driver’s test until I’m a good, and confident driver (it would also be nice if I passed the first time I take the test), so I’d like to get a lot of driving hours under my belt over the next few months. I want to be ready to get my license by the end of May and to do that I am going to practice driving a minimum of 3 hours a week. 3 hours a week for 6 months will be 72 hours of driving experience, not including the time I’ve already spent practicing. I’ve heard that 100 hours is a good amount of practice time, so the closer I get to that before I take my test the better.

I’m starting my plan this coming week, and within the next few weeks, I’ll write a post to review my progress.

Below, I have written my deadline for this goal. One thing I tend to overlook when I choose a deadline for a goal is the fact that I don’t have to wait to complete the goal until right before I reach the deadline, I can, in fact, complete it whenever I’m ready to. My mom reminds me at times that “to be early is to be on time.” So, as I start this goal, I’m going to try to keep that in my mind and work towards being “on time.”

Goal – Get My Driver’s License

Deadline – May 31st

One thought on “A Plastic Card Called “Freedom”

  1. Pingback: I’ve Got to Have a Plan, Jeeves! « Setting the Bolder Course

Leave a Reply

