Life Lists

I remember the first time I heard about life lists years ago. I love making lists so, naturally, I started one of my own right away.

A while after writing the first draft of my life list in a journal though, it eventually got hidden away and forgotten about for a time. Over the years I continued to think of it every once in a while; usually when I had thought of something I wanted to add to it, but I would forget to choose things to work on from my list so that I could check them off. Consequently, I’ve only crossed off a few things from my list, but I’m working on changing that.

I thought it would be fun to add a page for my life list here on my blog. I titled it “A Ladder to the Stars.” While I was going over my list and typing it all out, there were things I decided not to keep on the list. For example, I laughed when I saw that I had originally had down four different instruments that I wanted to learn; now I’ve chosen to take a few off and keep the one instrument that I’ve wanted to learn for as long as I can remember: the piano.

I just accomplished #4 – get my driver’s license – on April 3. It’s exciting to finally have my license. I was more than ready for that bit of independence that comes with being able to drive myself wherever I need or want to go.

Some other things from my list that I’ve been focusing on lately are:

#22. Find several cake recipes that I love.

#23. Find several cupcake recipes I love.

#53. Become a tea drinker. Learn to love drinking tea.

#71. Read all of the Sherlock Holmes stories.

Do you have a Life List? If so, what kinds of things are on your list?

6 thoughts on “Life Lists

  1. I love how you title it a ‘Life List’! That’s really what it is, and sounds so much better than ‘bucket list’. I’ve always wanted to see Bob Segar live too! I’ve got a few on mine having to do with clear blue oceans. I think the key to being able to strike items off a list like this is to make sure they’re attainable. There are a couple on mine that aren’t, so maybe I need to revisit that soon. I love the above picture of a page of your original list!! πŸ™‚

    • Somehow I hadn’t heard of “bucket lists” until after I had heard of “life lists” and I always stuck with calling them the latter, because I think it seems more fitting, too. Ah, you’re a Bob Seger fan!.. I always knew I liked you. πŸ˜‰ Oh, I love that you have things having to do with clear blue oceans on your list! That’s something my list could benefit from. The sea is so beautiful. Thanks, Bonnie! πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds nice that you are going to get a black Russian Terrier. πŸ˜€ I’m afraid of all kinds of dogs, but I like watching them from a distance. Love your handwriting! Mine is also in round shape. : D

    • I’m glad that you can enjoy dogs from a distance! I think they are such fun animals. I have a Yorkshire terrier named Monty right now, but I would love to get a second dog so that Monty can have a friend. πŸ™‚ Oh, thank you! I love that we have similar handwriting; that’s very fun! πŸ˜€

  3. Great post! I’m a HUGE list fan as well – in fact this year I got a whole notebook of goals for 2012… I got a bit carried away so I’m sure there’ll be a few carried over to next year πŸ™‚

    Also love that you just learned to drive… would you believe that it also is high up on my life list as well? haha

    Looking forward to see how your list progresses πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Ah, a fellow list lover, we must be kindred spirits. Many times I have found myself with a slightly overly ambitious list of goals. πŸ™‚

      Oh, good luck with your driving! Having a license has been wonderful; you’ll love it!

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing all of the crafty things you do this year! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

